Doctor and Patient

Mississippi Medical Marijuana

Mississippi Medical Cannabis 

Mississippi State Department of Health anticipates that cannabis products will become available to patients in late 2022 to allow time for cultivation of marijuana in the state and required safety testing.

Conveniently located next to Waveland Pharmacy, The Pfarmacy, is an approved and licensed dispensary.  Anticipated to open in the Fall of 2022, The Pfarmacy will be open from 10am - 5pm, Monday - Friday at 112 Auderer Blvd, Suite A in Waveland.

The Pfarmacy will only dispense medical cannabis to patients with a medical marijuana card.  If you're interested in applying for a card, please see below.

How to Get Medical Marijuana Card in Mississippi

You must have approval from a doctor in order to obtain a medical cannabis card.

The easiest and most streamlined process is to take a picture/scan the QR code or follow this link to Green Health Docs (bonus — you'll get $30 off your certification!).

With Green Health Docs, you book an appointment online where you'll complete pre-qualification paperwork with the state, then talk with a care specialist who will go over your paperwork, and finally setup an in-person visit with one of their doctors.  If approved, you'll then be ready to get your medical card with the state.     

Green Health docs referral flyer.png
Who Qualifies for a Medical Marijuana Card in Mississippi?

According to the MPP (Marijuana Policy Project) which has great information and an easy to read summary of the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act, qualifying medical conditions include:

  • Cancer

  • Parkinson's

  • Huntington's

  • muscular dystrophy

  • glaucoma

  • spastic quadriplegia

  • HIV

  • AIDS

  • hepatitis

  • amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)

  • Crohn's

  • ulcerative colitis

  • sickle cell anemia

  • Alzheimer's

  • agitation of dementia

  • PTSD

  • autism

  • pain refractory to opioid management

  • diabetic/peripheral neuropathy

  • spinal cord disease or

  • severe injury
     

  • A chronic medical condition (or its treatment) that produces either cachexia or wasting, severe nausea, seizures, severe and persistent muscle spasms, or chronic pain — which is narrowly defined as, “a pain state in which the cause of the pain cannot be removed or otherwise treated, and which in the generally accepted course of medical practice, no relief or cure of the cause of the pain is possible, or none has been found after reasonable efforts by a practitioner;” and
     

  • Conditions approved by the MDOH, after a petition process.

    • ID cards expire after one year unless practitioners specify an earlier date.

    • Patients between 18-23 generally must have written certifications from two different practitioners from separate medical practices to qualify. (There is an exception for those who registered before they were 18 and the homebound.)

To qualify, patients must have at least one qualifying medical condition and a written certification issued by a healthcare practitioner with whom they have a bona fide relationship. Patients must also apply to the health department (MDOH) for a registration card, which costs $25 (or less in some cases).  

We will be updating this page with additional information as it becomes available.  Please stay tuned.